• News & Entertainment 
  • Relationships 
  • Sex 
  • Dieting 
  • Fashion 
  • Food & Drink

« 

I regret not having an abortion

Sorry if this is too long... I need to vent.
When I was 17, I started dating a guy I met at a church picnic, he was 21. We immediately hit it off, he was great. However, he had a dark side. He became physically and verbally abusive when we were alone. He was a very caring and nice guy in public. I broke up with him and moved in with my sister when I graduated high school. I was going to college and wanted to be a nurse. I was doing very well in school and had really good grades. Not dating anybody, I stopped birth control. Somehow, my ex-bf found out where I lived and started harrasing me. I ignored him, told him it was over, and my school had priority. One day I was going to the gym at school and he got me into his car. He sexually abused me in his car before letting me go.

I found out I was pregnant a little over a month later. My first thought was I wanted an abortion. I came back home and explained what happened to my parents. They were supportive and told me, no matter what, do not abort the baby. People at church were also supportive, they gave me a lot of baby stuff. I really wanted an abortion, but by now it was too late. I would feel excomunicated from my family and church if I did that. The father of the baby moved away after my dad threatened to report to the police. Apparently he also had issues with another girl he dated, so he just moved away. We never reported, I didn't want to. After all, he was the father of my child. I don't even know where he is right now.